M
USIC REVIEWS
COMMENTS PAGE 2

This page was created on February 16, 2000
and was last updated on June 5, 2005

MUSIC FORUM
CURRENT MUSIC FORUM
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 3
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 2
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 1

BULLETIN BOARD (rules)
Post your comments -click here.

PLEASED
Subject: ELO review
Date: Mon, 11 Mar 2002
From: Jim

 Sir,
I read your review of ELO's (Jeff Lynne's) ZOOM and was quite pleased. I have been a fan of ELO since I was around 14 or so. I am now 37 and still a great fan. Your review was complete and detailed. It is obvious you are a fan and its nice to be associated with yet another one. The CD definately has a lighter sound. I loved it as I heard it for the first time and it only gets better the more I listen to it. It still amazes me at the effects Mr. Lynne has had on the music industry yet seemingly no one knows who he is except fans of ELO. I think that is very credible to Mr. Lynne because it seems he cares little be noticed. Fantastic artist with what seems to be endless talents.

I may also be interested in a newsletter is one is still available.

- Jim

TAKE THE RESPONSIBILITY
Subject: Tool_Lateralus
Date: Thu, 07 Mar 2002
From: Colin Lindell, 17, Cranbrook BC

 I definitely agree with those who think you should listen to some of their older music if you want to make a judgement, but who wants to take that responsibility on themselves (making a judgement, that is)? I have been a christ follower all my life, and I have heard all of tool's stuff, and, well, those two facts dont really conflict. I find their music incomparable to anything else, and sometimes feel guilty with the extent that I "worship" their music. Nevertheless, lateralus lights a fire inside of me that few other things in life do, and there isnt a time I listen to it that I dont find myself thanking God for that.
Colin Lindell, 17, Cranbrook BC

DETH CRITIQUES
Subject: Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Fri, 1 Mar 2002
From: Bio rick

Those of you knowing little/nothing about Megadeth, would you PLEASE post elsewhere. Opening lines like 'I haven't really listened to this band' speak for themselves.

ONE OF THE BEST BANDS
Subject: Tool_Lateralus
Date: Fri, 8 Feb 2002
From: Herbalaussie

Tool is one of the best bands to ever come together. I was ecstatic when I got the chance to see them in Chicago on their Lateralus tour. I got a floor ticket because

I was the first in line. Damn, that concert is the best one that I have been to yet! The floor was packed and I could barely breathe with the crowd swaying to the rhythm of the music, but I would do it all over again. Slayer, Pantera, Soulfly, etc. are others that I've seen live, but Tool has them all beat.

I love the way they combine images with their lyrics and notes. Every riff and word speak to you in a way that no other band could. The only two bands that I like better

than Tool are the Smashing Pumpkins and NIN. Everybody praises Kid Rock and Fred Durst for writing "kick-ass" songs, when all of the talent that you need is right here.

"Lateralus" is the best album that Tool has written yet. And fans never know what their next move will be.
Herbalaussie

TOOL
Subject: tool Tool_Lateralus
Date: Sun, 20 Jan 2002
From: Hugo Alonso Marenco

You guys should listen to "Opiate", in case you haven't CHROMA KEY : 'You Go Now' http://www.chromakey.com/

SATANIC MUSIC?
Subject: Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Thu, 17 Jan 2002
From: Kevin

this is in response to the person claiming to be a teacher and to all those who say to be wary of metal bands such as Megadeth:

I am an adult male, 24 years old with no arrest record, perfect credit, always paid my bills on time, and am also a college graduate. I am a perfectly well-adjusted human being, and I grew up on MEGADETH. Yes, lyrically, Dave Mustaine can be rather pessimistic at times. And musically, he's relentless in his pursuit or speed and power. But to suggest the devil in his music, get real. I happen to recall the past 24 years as being rather trying times, and no matter how much faith the church wants you to have, just look around. The toilet bowl is far from being clean. There is no reasonable argument that rock music breeds satanism. And besides, Satanism is a perfectly viable religion, and I live in a country (U.S.A) that provides me with the right to worship the devil until I'm blue in the face. It's perfectly legal. And please stop harassing rock musicians because the music is too heavy for you. It's ridiculous and you can't stop human beings from getting enjoyment out of it. If you have a problem with what I'm saying, visit me at smokintongues.com. It's not metal, but you can make a case that were a satanic pop band if you really want to dig for the negative. So much for spirituality and positive thinking. Hypocrites.
Kev

RE: PROFANE LANGUAGE
Subject: Incubus_Make_Yourself
Date: Fri, 11 Jan 2002

Notably we are all different and we all see things differently. To catch ones ear with the common profane is beautifully done, we here it so often that it is now a part of our thoughts and how we perceive things. Our frustrations are strong now days, and when we HEAR common ground we tend to connect with it. I think thinking about the music and finding your own meanings in it and getting what you think is the message is SO IMPORTANT. That is how all of us are living our seperate lives, what the hell are we doing here and why. To get the juices flowing in you head is the start for the truth and you should never stop what is in motion because there is a destination to the truth. I think people forget how big GOD is. He doesn't live in the apartment next door. He is all-powerful. He is trying to send a voice to everyone (music). Think about the amount of languages there are and why. PROFANE LANGUAGE is in the eye of the beholder.

TOOL
Subject: Tool_Lateralus
Date: Wed, 9 Jan 2002
From: "Tony"

You guys really scare me. Have you ever listened to "Eulogy" (aenema) or "Opiate"? You know..."deaf and blind and dumb and born to follow...."

GREAT DRUMMER?
Subject: Sevevdust_Home_Music
Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2002
From: "Robert Faucett"

I just read the paragraph about the singing of both the lead singer and the drummer, and yes they are good, but no they are not better than that of Tool's lead singer and Tool's drummer. Just because the drummer of Sevendust can play and sing (or scream as you worded it) at the same time does not mean he is a great drummer. Yes he is good, but for example, I play in a band with my brother who is very good (and I'm not just saying that), and the drum music he writes to my guitar music is a lot harder to play and fits the guitar parts magnificently at the same time. Sometimes just for fun he will sing while he is playing, and it's not just a "half-descent" job of it. My point is that there are many drummers who can play and sing at the same time and do it well, but that doesn't make them the best drummer out of all the other drummers in other new "metal" bands. I admire tool's drummer more than any other drummer out of the new "metal" bands right now, and this is because he is so talented and mush more coordinated than any of these other new drummers right now, and when I saw them live he just played these so complicated parts like they were nothing which totally amazed me. Tool's drummer is by far a better drummer. As for Tool's lead singer, he is the best I have heard for a long time. He can hit the highest notes and hold them longer and louder than any other new band I know, and it's not just that which makes him a better singer, it's also his lyrics and melodies which are absolutely brilliant and Original just like the band itself.
--- Robert Faucett
--- dazedandconfused88@earthlink.net

BETTAN THAN TOOL?
Subject: Sevevdust_Home_Music
Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2002
From: "Robert Faucett"

I am sorry, but I cannot see how Sevendust is a better band than Tool both musically and lyrically. I hope that you can take time to explain this to me, because in my opinion (and I do carefully study this especially as far as lyrics go) Tool is by far a better band. I have even heard that Sevendust are fans of Tool.
--- Robert Faucett
--- dazedandconfused88@earthlink.net

GREED G-D
Subject: Creed
Date: Tue, 1 Jan 2002
From: Z

Hi... i would just like to point out that the says "to each his own" and "for each man to work out his own salvation" just a couple things for thought there.. if you feel bad about listening to it. dont freakin listen to it..
-z

FOR REAL?
Subject: Tool Lateralus
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2001
From: Josh

Is this for real? Tool Christians? what.... need more evidence. A few years ago I tossed my ol Tool cd cause I thought it was a bad influence, to this day I switch them off on the radio. Am I way off or are you? Josh

DYLAN?
Subject: MUSIC
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2001
From: Sveinbjörn

Hello, When are you going to review Bob Dylan´s "Love and theft"??
All the best
from Sveibjorn in Iceland.

DIFFERENT SPIRITUAL CONCEPTS
Subject: Tool_Lateralus
Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2001
From: lonicera

i can see the parallels tool's music has with christian principles, but to truly come to understand where tool seems to stand spiritually, one must look at different spiritual concepts--there are direct references made to the Flower of Life (used in many religions and even by the ancient Egyptians), consciousness described as an infinite spiral (see track 9, "Lateralis"), and many other things, including the evolution of human beings into higher levels of consciousness. please see the site (no, it isn't my own) innuendocornercopria.com for a comprehensive study of all the spiritual aspects behind tool's music.

one last note: if you were to analyze tool's last major album, Aenima, you would find many other references to religion and spirituality. now, some of the references made to christianity are somewhat harsh, but i believe tool has always intended to attack the sometimes corrupt institution of the church rather than the actual religion and the beliefs of christians.

Re: Soon, I hope. -David

THERE ISN'T SPIRITUAL TRUTH IN EVERYTHING... IS THERE?
Subject: 'Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Wed, 12 Dec 2001
From: dude bro

you guys are really grabbing for some "spiritual truths" in the stuff you are reviewing. if you try hard enough we can make a spiritual truth about pornography, murder, or other sick things. but what is beneficial about that? some of the stuff you have here is a stumbling block to young Christians. Romans 14:21 "It is better not to eat meat or drink wine or to do anything else that will cause your brother to fall."

keep looking for the good in everything, but don't make up what sometimes just isn't there and isn't intended for good. we need sold out Christians in the entertainment business to be salt and light.
dude bro

Response: You misapply Romans 14:21. It has to do with a personal one on one relationship. It is a discipleship issue -and it does not apply to response/commentary to pop culture. Besides Paul drank wine, and so did Jesus. Also they both ate meat. So think through what you are saying. -David

SAME DEMON SAYS "TEACHER"
Subject: Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2001
From: NStevenicola

I wasn't looking for this site but ran across it by accident. I don't know a lot about Megadeath. I found one of their tapes on the street a few years ago. I'm a teacher at a Christian school and I want to be on the cutting edge of what kids are into. I used to be into a a lot of rock but found it really affected my joy in the Lord so I have had to stop listening to it. Anyway I listened to the Megadeath tape (I can't remember the title) and found it very disturbing to me personally for this reason. I was at a church service several years ago that was dealing with the occult and devil possession. Suddenly a girl jumps up and runs out of the church. Several people went after her. As I left the meeting I could hear her screaming and it wasn't this girls voice (I knew her) it was the most gravely, dark, growling scream I've ever heard before or since. Anyway the connection with Megadeath is this: I heard that same scream on the Megadeath tape. The same sounding voice that I heard coming from that girl was just the same as on the tape. No different. What does all this mean? Look at the covers, read the lyrics, and listen to how the music is being played and then put it all together. I have. I can't say that you will come up with the same conclusion. I pray that you the reader will have discernment.
Christ's Love.
Steve

Response: It is hard to believe you qualify to be a teacher. Your reasoning is somehow wrong. I appreciate the fact that you are a Christian, but that's about all I can say that is kind in terms of your email. Please rethink what you are saying. -David

SATANIC, I THINK NOT!
Subject: ELO
Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2001
From: "Wendy Mahon"

Hi David!
I love your website! It is just awesome how you are viewing secular movies, television, and books from a Christian perspective! Many Christians think that viewing this stuff is completely evil, and they never see the good in it. I am a big ELO fan! I enjoyed reading your review on their current album. Even though ELO is not a Christian group, I notice that they write a lot of lyrics that are spiritual in nature. I found out that several of the guys in that group are actually Christian. It's awesome! I have read many articles about how many Christians like to put them down because they think that they write satanic backward lyrics in their songs. I don't believe all that crap! Their lyrics are the opposite, very spiritual! For example, read the lyrics to the song 'Evil Woman'. He talks about how his woman has done him wrong. And that she has destroyed all the virtues that the Lord gave her. Very satanic, I think not! Keep up the good work on your website. There is so much information on it to read that I have to keep coming back over and over again just to read it all. You cover everything! I notice that you have a free newsletter. Can you sign me up for it?
My email address is wmahon12@hotmail.com.
Thanks and God Bless!
Love ya, Wendy Mahon

PEACE ON EARTH
Subject: U2_All_That_You_Cant_Leave_Behind
Date: Sat, 17 Nov 2001
From: "naddie"

I just heard the song peace on earth for the first time, and I was wondering if you could give me your insight on this song. From your review I can see that you probably aren't very fond of it, but I found that I realy enjoyed it, and I wanted to understand it a little better, as I am quite confused about a few things. It would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

GOOD STUFF!
Subject: Good stuff! Tool_Lateralus
Date: Wed, 14 Nov 2001
From: Tim

This is a really good album. Tools last two albums have been amazing. Well worth investigating.

TAKE A CHILL PILL PEOPLE!
Subject: Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Wed, 14 Nov 2001
From: "tim lessels"

Take a chill pill people! stop being so intense with one another! if you cant treat each other right then u cant convice non-christians christianity is true. I have no problems with listening to "heavy metal" that is lyrically sound. In my experiance "secular music" is more sound than the socalled "praise" songs we sing on sundays!

However im not convinced that "megadeth" is a healthy option in general (i say this as an ex-fan) when i became a christian, their lyrical content became undesirable and irrelevant (although their riffs still rock!). However i have not heard "looking up the cross", and so will check it out :)

As a ex-fan i dont recall their music being "satanic" although there are some bands to be wary of (ie. slayer, pantera). However Metallica, U2, Delirious, etc. have a combination of good songs and bad ones. Don't throw out the baby with the bath water. but dont drink the bath water either.

And to "seekingthelord" guy. Don't become so heavenly minded that your of no earthly use! When we die, we are dead until the ressurection. Then God will create "a new heavens and a NEW EARTH". better get used to living on earth cause we don't go to heaven!!!

SATANIC BANDS
Subject: Megadeth_The_World_Needs_A_Hero
Date: Tue, 06 Nov 2001
From: Michael Greensboro

Hey, I love the movie site but was suprised to see Satanic music reviewed on the site. I don't see anything redeemable in this music, though we can all pray for the band members and fans.
Thanks, Michael Greensboro, NC

CREED DISCUSSION
Subject: Creed
Date: Sun, 04 Nov 2001
From: benjamin

David, first let me thank you for posting my note on Creed, and music (your page 114); I haven't received any emails to discuss the topic yet, but i'm hoping to get a discussion going. anyone up for it? (benjamin@dublin.com) second is a thought i had while skimming the last set of entries on the HollywoodJesus comments page. "our struggle is not against flesh and blood!" people are not our problem. opinions are fine, but we have to keep THE POINT in focus to intelligently discuss pop culture, movies, music, etc.
ben

ps: our discussion on Scott Stapp (Creed) has been postponed to Nov 24. Tune in @ 7pm Sat nights at 15620 95 Ave, Edmonton, Canada, or check our website(www.gathering-online.com) for the audio download of the evening. I'd love to have a virtual "gathering" of believers, who don't live in the Edmonton area. 'mail me if you're interested! --

MUSIC FORUM
CURRENT MUSIC FORUM
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 3
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 2
PAST COMMENTS PAGE 1